Writing and Muses.

20121119-045848.jpg “I got this Mom.” ~ one of my reasons for writing.

Music is a muse for most of the writers I know. They all have a favorite method for choosing what to listen to when working on a novel. Depending on the scene and the atmosphere they want to get through to the reader will determine what music they listen to.

Others go for nature walks, read another book from a favorite author or exercise. I have even heard a few writers talk about coming to a breakthrough while washing the dishes! (Those people are crazy! I hate washing dishes!)

I have taken a page from the awesome Yasmine Galenorn and started putting together playlists that I happen to listen to while I am writing. I plan on adding these music muses to the back of the book. No particular order to listen to but you may figure out what music inspired what scene.

The entire writing process can be a mystery to anyone who does not write. Maybe I can help give a bit of insight into how ideas and images flow through the mind and body then out through the fingers onto the keys of a type writer or computer keyboard. Or maybe I should keep that bit of mystery and magic to it. Believing in a thing helps make it so. If writers were to lose the mystery of what they do then maybe there would no longer be magic in the pages of a good book.

Keep Reading and believing!

Leave a Reply

