The Hard Part

The manuscript is written. 50k words of story. Now comes the hard part.

Rewrite. Edit. Rewrite. Edit. When does it stop? I have heard other writers say that the rewrite never does. Part of being a writer is knowing when to send it out. When it is good enough. Some say that even when the book is in print and shelved that they felt it could have been better.

I have learned that aside from needing to become your own worst enemy about making sure you get your butt in a chair and write every day, the hardest part is getting said butt into said chair and tearing apart the words you have already written!

I am a pantser. Which means that the 50k I have written started the second I wrote the first sentence. There was no plot outline, no plan. Just wrote what came into my head at the time. This is a nightmare for rewrite but amazing for creativity!

Now I am struggling to weave together all this great story into something that makes sense. Creative though it may be there is no flow. There are things that don’t make sense. Ends happen that never had a beginning. Characters talk or speak to each other in ways they really wouldn’t at that point in the story. It is like being a time traveler and trying to unwind lives that have gotten terribly mangled in their timeline.

The other issue I am having with Death’s Hope is that I started the story as Erotica Urban Fantasy. As I work through it I realize that these people would not be sleeping with each other yet. There is too much baggage between them that they need to work out (And one character doesn’t even realize she has yet). There is another character who was minor in the first draft who is starting to shine and come into himself in the second. He might be a major player in book one where I thought he wouldn’t be until at least book two.

So the hardest part of being a writer for me? Writing every day. Finishing what I have started. Organizing the lives and timeline to make a story that flows from Point A to Point B without forgetting to wrap up Sub-Plot 1 and making sure that there is a close to the story while leaving things open to continue on to Point C in the next book! (Long Exhale here!)

What is the hardest part of being a writer for you? Are you a pantser or a plotter? Both?

Leave a Reply

