Marriage Equality, my take…

Today the Internet has been full of marriage equality and gay rights.

I read posts from the Christian stand saying that marriage is between a man and a woman. Yes, under the law this is true. Under the old contract there were many things that were asked of the people for their health and safety.

As a Christian myself, I believe in the new contract forged in blood by Jesus that we, as modern believers, should show that God is Love. Not continue to spread fear and hate under the guise of religion.

God is not ‘rules and regulations to make you feel guilty your entire life’. He is LOVE.

The church has forgotten that over the many years it was and has been in power. You all know the saying. ‘power corrupts….’

It won’t hurt me or by belief in God and it will certainly not change His love for me to show His love to the lgtb community by allowing them the same freedom to love. It may just change their opinion of a sadly corrupt state of Christians today.

I take a stand now as a Christian and say marriage equality is the loving thing to do. I know I am going to get ‘flamed’ for this by well meaning Christians. But those people need to stop and ask themselves, if a man murders someone and the later accepts Christ, will he still go to hell? I don’t think so.

This is my opinion. You are entitled to yours.

Leave a Reply

