Game Re-Review: EverQuest

EverQuest is the grand-daddy of MMORPG’s. Anyone who tells you different is misinformed.

My husband and I bought the game way back in the early part of 1999 but did not get the chance to actually play until later that year. We fell away from the game over the years. Playing just about everything else, but we always came back to EverQuest and the friends we met there who feel like family now. Most are still with us but a few have passed on. I will think of them always as family.

Those first few notes of music bring back a wave of nostalgia for the ‘good old days’ of mmorpg. Before the chat was filled with kids (referring to anyone with a childlike attitude) who spend their time telling other people how bad they are at a video game. Before the days of instant gratification gear and “do it for me” characters.

A few gaming friends and I decided to hop back in to the world of Norrath and see how things were under their F2P (Free to Play). Unlike WarHammer Online, I still had access to my original account and the characters I put so much time and energy into without needed to purchase a subscription. We had a few players in the group who had never played the game so we went to a different server and started fresh.

They allow a decent selection of races and classes for the f2p players and give the option to purchase restricted class/race by those types you would prefer rather than require you to purchase the subscription. So even if you choose to remain a f2p member but want to play a restricted class/race you can.

After a bit of fumbling with the 2 characters I had made prior, I created a barbarian warrior woman named Kobia. (I LOVE using mmos to build on character development for my books).

The characters seem stiff and the controls somewhat archaic if you are used to some of the newer online games, but after a while and a bit of tweaking the controls, you get the hang of it again.

So much has changed I hardly recognized the Caverns that you first start out in. It was a feature added to the game after several expansions to help new gamers learn how to control their character and the basics of the game play mechanics. I still think they did a fantastic job in the tutorial area. They give you enough information to get you started if you are all alone. There is still plenty to learn beyond what they teach but the community still seems willing to help out a new player.
We never did make it out of the tutorial, at least I didn’t, before I had to log out and play mom. We still had a lot of fun and I found myself wanting to dig into researching character information again and how to build a better warrior in EverQuest.

If you are a competitive gamer who wants to check out where it all started, you might want to check out the FAQ available in-game and the website to learn what combos of character/race/player stats would be best for you. There must be dozens of websites and forums about EverQuest now.

EverQuest offers all the features you could wish from any MMORPG including built-in voice chat option as well as expansive storylines for those interested in the RPG aspects and PVP servers for those who want to test their skills against other players.

If you don’t mind a game that will require a bit of a learning curve to play, I would recommend popping on and checking it out. Otherwise you can watch some of the action on live stream at mmorpgcom or Insomniacs Gaming.

I will also be doing some streaming from time to time as well as posting videos to my YouTube channel:

http://www.twitch.tv/iniriba

OR

http://www.youtube.com/user/Iniriba

and as always you can find me on twitter @iniriba

If you have a game or book you would like me to review leave a comment below with a link to information about it.

Thanks for reading!

 

Special thanks go out to @Grakulan, @insomniacsgamin, @kisage65 and always @Barameistu for playing EverQuest with me!

Leave a Reply

