Nano Over Now What?

NaNoWriMo is over and I am sure many writers are wondering the same thing I am at this point.

Now What?

Well, there are a few ways you can go at this point but for sure, Keep Writing. Find a new project to immerse yourself in.

I plan on doing another Novel in a Month. It worked well for me in getting a book from start to finish. I plan on doing another and see what happens. Lucky for me the program I use to write with gives a daily word goal. It is nice. If you are interested in joining me in another 30 day dash, leave a comment. The more the merrier and this is a great time of year for Merry!

Another option now that Nano is over: Edit something else. (The key here is Something Else)

If you happen to have a project ready for it, try editing something you have that is not your Nano work. (That needs time to settle in and ferment a bit. Which makes a good book kinds like beer! Oh there is a blog bonus post!) I have a short story I have had for years. I have started the edit process with the help of some great people ( Thank you Jennifer! Roz and Bara!) If you have ready my previous blogs you may know the story I am talking about. Do you have something you are editing? What is your biggest pet peeve when editing someone else? Leave a comment! Is there something in your own work that stands out? a Mistake you make all the time? Mine is commas. When ending a dialogue sentence like “I told you to put the damn comma in the right place,” Jen said to me, her voice full of sarcasm. I always get it wrong (cept now cuz I was watching…)

You can celebrate a job well done and look forward to next year!

I know some people only do Nano for the challenge of it. Just to be able to say “I see your 30 Days…And I win.” Nothing more. That is cool. So now you have 11 months to tell people “I wrote 50k in 30 days.” Good on you! Let me know how you have decided to celebrate maybe we can have an online party!

Whatever you decide to do, Grats on a job well done during NaNoWriMo this year! Even if you did not make it into the Winner Circle be proud that you were a part of something that people all around the world participated in!

 

 

One comment on “Nano Over Now What?

  1. Hi, I just finished NaNoWriMo for the first time too. It was exhausting! It was great to be part of a worldwide web writing community!

Leave a Reply

